3.0 tranny and transfer case

Transmission Rebuilds or problems? Ask it here.

3.0 tranny and transfer case

Postby 92slammedmitsu » Fri Mar 12, 2010 10:10 pm

ok fella im new to the 3.0 motors ive always worked on the 2.4's so i have a few questions. I may be buying a 4wd MM with the 3.0 but the transfer case is supposed to be trashed and making all kinda noise ,,,so can i just pull the transfer case off and still run the truck like a 2wd or is that not an option?

Ok another question is if it turns out to be the tranny and i can not find another or get it rebuild with in my budget is it possible to mated another model tranny (chevy,ford,ect) with an adapter of some sort?
92slammedmitsu

Engine Size: 2.4
What year vehicle do you own?: 1991

Re: 3.0 tranny and transfer case

Postby TotallyBalistic » Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:16 am

when you pull the transfer case off your not able to run the truck. you would have to have a piece machined for a cone and even then the tailshaft would probably still be to short. you may be able to pull the trans and take it to a machine shop and then another trans of your choice so they would have both patterns for the bell housing and just have your own adapter made. stop by the local parts store and find a clutch disk thats the same diameter and thickness as your 3.0 that will go on the input shaft of your transmission. youll also need to make sure the end of the input shaft will fit in the same pilot bearing in the end of the crank shaft...you want a snug fit there or youll get nasty vibrations that will probably trash your transmission
Chuck Norris doesnt read books, he stares them down until he gets the information he wants.
TotallyBalistic
Good Times
Good Times

Engine Size: 2.0
What year vehicle do you own?: 1988

Postby 92slammedmitsu » Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:39 am

i appreciate the information bro , i will be making the adapter my self if i choose to go that route so that wont be a problem there.