PDA

View Full Version : 1991 monty max 4x4. V6 to 4g swap & RHD. need 4g fit aide

vagrant_mugen
03-02-2019, 11:51 PM
ok. so im new to jap vehicles and new to 4x4's, but not to autos. esp not 80's vw's
audis and bmw's. so im a recovering german car enthusiast.

so ive had this 1991 mighty max for a few years now, bout a year an a half ago i stuffed
the nose into a lift gate of a box truck (dont ask), so its needed a front end for a bit.
Ive always wanted a montero, love the noses. so im putting a monty nose on in place
of the square headlights.

And after digging into the front end w repairs and noticing how simple it would be to swap
the steering over from LHD to Right hand drive (its just a matter of replacing the steering box,
idler arm and tie-rod link rod with the RHD mirror-image units from the UK etc, the entire brake/clutch
pedal assembly moves over to the right side of the firewall. piece of cake.)

so ive got a new RHD idler arm in the post, shud be here next week. thatll tell me if they are
indeed the same bolt pattern and then ill have a steering box and tie rod link shipped over.
i havnt looked into getting a dashboard, its gonna be pricey to ship such a large part, so i might
just make a custom aluminum dash w montero gauges and center console, idk yet...

So, i want to shitcan the crappy V6, ive always preferred 4 cyls. obviously id love to swap in
a turbo 4g, but ive done the turbo thing and im just after a nice reliable modern DOHC 16v.
i was gonna swap in a toyota 2/3RZ after driving one super torquey, then i read the newer 4g64's
are about the same output and it'd be nice to keep it all mitsu. this brings me to my issue;

after reading thru the 4g RWD thread i encountered some forgotten issues.
my plan was to get a 4g outta a 01-05 eclipse and install that with an 87-89 montero
4g transaxle/clutch/starter. heres where i hit the speedbump.
i forgot about the narrow/wide block thing.
-So the big Questions;